Link

Painting with glaze is an art form that follows on from the experiments of the Surrealists in the 1930s, including the technique of painting without a brush, invented by Max Ernst, applied to ceramic glazes. The experiments retain the attraction of innovation, freshness and being a new acquisition by going beyond the boundaries of ceramic tradition.

Glaze Painting

With its three-dimensional effect, glaze painting is reminiscent of paint applied with the palette knife in the manner of van Gogh and renews the force of attraction of what-has-not-been-experienced. The powerful autonomy of the colours provides a special technical appeal like Henri Matisse's gouaches découpées.

Figurations

The sculptures treated with colour are a special case in this field because of their glazed formal components, which is entirely appropriate to ceramics.

Multimedia Figurations: Figurations from the conventional categories of porcelain, stoneware and earthenware which, through their own special impact as media, unite painting, drawing and sculpture in a way that is only possible in ceramics. In a world of the intellect, multi-media ceramics corresponds to interdisciplinary knowledge and research – an expression of intellectual globality that follows a preceding dissolution of boundaries.

Colour Field Painting in Glaze

Like in the work of the pioneers of colour field painting, Clyfford Still, Mark Rothko and Barnett Newman, the colour fields are aimed at the philosophical content of abstract representations. They are pictorial thought sequences, ideas wrapped in art. In their intense, homogenous colours, the glazes with their three-dimensional quality further develop the attractive possibilities discovered by Larry Poons, which lie in the materiality of colour and which provided new impetus in colour field painting.

Relief glaze painting

Sculptural forms on a background painted in coloured glaze correspond to the "shaped canvases" of the American painter Frank Stella, which were first made fun of by some critics, but then proved to be an approach that lent more weight to the image as a subject. The potential of ceramics is ideal for this art form through the unity of colour and sculptural form found there.

© 2010 - 2021 Gustav Weiß

Link

Das Malen mit Glasuren ist eine Kunst, die an die Experimente der Surrealisten in den Dreißigerjahren anschließt. Unter anderem ist das damals von Max Ernst erfundene Malen ohne Pinsel auf keramische Glasuren angewandt. Die Experimente bewahren den Reiz der Neuheit, der Frische und des Hinzugewinns, indem sie über die Grenzen der keramische Tradition hinausgehen.

Glasurmalerei

Die Glasurmalerei erinnert in ihrer plastischen Wirkung an die aufgespachtelten Farben van Goghs und vermag die Zugkraft des Noch-nicht-erlebten zu erneuern. Die starke Autonomie der Farben bietet wie die Couaches découpés von Hernri Matisse einen besonderen technischen Reiz.

Figurationen

Die farbig behandelten Plastiken bilden durch ihre glasierten Formelemente einen Sonderfall der bildhauerischen Plastiken, der der Keramik angemessen ist.

Multimediafigurationen sind Figurationen aus den konventionellen Kategorien Porzellan, Steinzeug und Irdenware, die wegen ihrer eigenen Wirkungen als Medien die Malerei, die Grafik und die Plastik in einer Art und Weise vereinen, wie es nur in der Keramik möglich ist. Der Multimediakeramik entspricht in der Welt des Geistes das interdisziplinäre Wissen und Forschen - Ausdruck einer geistigen Globalität nach vorangegangener Entgrenzung.

Farbfeldmalerei mit Glasuren

Die Farbfelder sind wie bei den Wegbereitern der Farbfeldmalerei, Clyffort Still, Mark Rothko und Barnett Newman, auf den philosophischen Gehalt abstrakter Darstellungen gerichtet. Es sind bildhafte Denkfolgen, in Kunst verpacktes Denken. Die Glasuren in ihren intensiv homogenen Farben setzen in ihrer Plastizität Larry Poons´ attraktive Möglichkeiten fort, die in der Materialität der Farbe liegen. Mit ihnen hatte er der Farbfeldmalerei neue Impulse verliehen.

Reliefierte Malerei mit Glasuren

Plastische Formen auf farbig gemaltem Glasurgrund entsprechen den „shaped canvases“ des amerikanischen Malers Frank Stella, die erst von Kritikern belächelt wurden, sich dann aber als eine Art erwiesen, die dem Bild als Subjekt mehr Gewicht verlieh. Die keramischen Möglichkeiten bieten sich durch ihre Vereinigung von Farbe und Plastik geradezu für diese Kunstform an. So entsprechen auch die weißen Reliefs auf farbigem Glasurgrund der Jasper-ware Wedgwoods, mit der er die antiken Kameen in Keramik nachbildete.

© 2010 - 2017 Gustav Weiß